Home > Other Stuff > News & Notes> 1,864 Swimmers Take Part in New World Harbour Race 2013.

News & Notes

1,864 Swimmers Take Part in New World Harbour Race 2013.

Oct 08 (Tue ), 2013

1,864 Swimmers Take Part in New World Harbour Race 2013.

The New World Harbour Race 2013 was held on Sunday, 6 October, for the third year since its re-launch.

Record-breaking participation and a new group of international elite swimmers all competing together resulted in fierce battles between the 500 contenders in the Racing Group categories.
The race was seen and cheered on by enthusiastic crowds along both sides of the harbour. Alongside over 70 elite swimmers from around the globe competing for the first time in the International Category, around 1,500 swimmers from the newly-added Leisure Group were allowed to soak up the relaxing atmosphere as they swam across Victoria Harbour. The carnival located near the finishing point further spiced up the atmosphere.
New World Harbour Race 2013 kicked off at Sam Ka Tsuen Public Pier in Lei Yue Mun, Kowloon and finished at Quarry Bay Park Public Pier, Hong Kong. All swimmers completed the race within 1 hour and 15 minutes this year, and were greeted by cheering crowds when they reached the finishing point.
New World Harbour Race went global this year and officials from FINA witnessed the marquee in person with the Hong Kong community. The newly-added International Category was fiercely contended by elite swimmers. Trophies of the International Category Individual Men & Women went to Christian Reichert (Germany) and Poliana Okimoto (Brazil) by clocking 15:45.7 and 15:56.2 respectively. In the Open (A) Aged 17 - 34 Individual Men category, Ling Tin Yu claimed the winning title for the third year in a row with a time of 18:44.1, while Claudia Wong Ming Yu beat two-time defending champion Natasha Tang Wing Yung by clocking 20:01.6 to win the women race.
For the K11 Harbour Race Youth Category Aged 12 - 16 Individual Boys and Individual Girls, Lau Shiu Yue won with a time of 21:22.1, while Chan On Yi, Fiona was named the women's winner by clocking 22:10.1. Taking home the men's trophy of the Open (B) Aged 35 - 49 Individual was Nortje Craig Andrew who finished at 25:21.2, while Kwoh Mary, at 27:08.9, was declared the women's champion. In the Open (C) Aged 50 or above Individual, Koo Yu Fat finished in 21:52.1 to claim the Individual Men championship and Leung Wong Yin Har, Hayley netted the women's championship with a time of 28:21.3.
Ronnie Wong, Hong Kong Amateur Swimming Association's Honourable Secretary, said, "The Cross Harbour Race has been an iconic local event since its establishment. To allow the general public to truly enjoy this historic sports event, a new Leisure Group was created this year to allow more qualified non-racing swimmers to enjoy the atmosphere of the race. This year's event created a milestone - not only has the number of swimmers hit a record high of 1,864, but the major event also successfully brought onto the international stage with the participation of over 70 global elite swimmers. It is quite an accomplishment given that the race has just been re-launched for three years."