Home > Other Stuff > News & Notes> HSBC Rugby Sevens World Series Grows to 10 Rounds

News & Notes

HSBC Rugby Sevens World Series Grows to 10 Rounds

Jul 02 (Mon ), 2012

HSBC Rugby Sevens World Series Grows to 10 Rounds

The International Rugby Board (IRB) has again expanded the HSBC Sevens World Series, with Argentina joining as a 10th venue on the upcoming 2012/13 Series.

La Plata will play host to some of the finest Sevens players on the planet for the second round of the upcoming Series on 20-21 October 2012, one week after the Gold Coast Sevens kicks off the new season in Australia.
 A stellar 2012/13 Sevens season will be further enhanced by Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013 in Moscow on 28-30 June, while the inaugural IRB Women's Sevens Series will also kick off.
Argentina's addition to the list of global hot spots signals the return of the Series to South America for the first time since 2002. It also means that every continent now hosts at least one round of the HSBC Sevens World Series with tournaments in Africa (1), Asia (3), Europe (2), Oceania (2), North America (1) and South America (1).
The announcement comes at an exciting time for the Series and for Argentina with the South Americans set to make their Rugby Championship debut next month alongside Australia, South Africa and Rugby World Cup 2011 champions New Zealand.
IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset said, “I am delighted that Argentina is joining the impressive list of spectacular global destinations that comprise the record-breaking HSBC Sevens World Series. These are exciting times for South America, where participation has grown by 25% in the last four years owing to the prestige and profile of Rugby World Cup, the IRB and CONSUR's investment and development strategies and Olympic Games inclusion.
“Argentina continues to be the beating heart of the South American success story and we very much look forward to working in partnership with the Argentine Rugby Union and the Argentina government to deliver an event that will capture hearts and minds, benefit rugby throughout the region and mark another significant milestone as we countdown to Sevens' Olympic Games debut in Rio in 2016.”
2012/2013 HSBC Sevens World Series Fixtures
13-14 October 2012 Australia (Gold Coast)
20-21 October 2012 Argentina (La Plata)
30 November - 1 December 2012 Dubai
7-8 December 2012 South Africa (Port Elizabeth)
1-2 February 2013 New Zealand (Wellington)
8-10 February 2013 USA (Las Vegas)
22-24 March 2013 Hong Kong
30-31 March 2013 Japan (Tokyo)
4-5 May 2013 Scotland (Glasgow)
11-12 May 2013 England (London)
Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013, 28-30 June 2013 – Moscow, Russia